LinkedIn with Marilynn Mobley

I had the good fortune of meeting Marilynn Mobley, SVP of Edelman Atlanta, for lunch today (along with 80 new friends who happen to be members or guests of ProWIN).  I’ve been following her efforts off and on for a few years at the recommendation of clients and friends. Today was a particularly big day for her as she had just been tapped to run their Boomer practice but she still made good on her commitment to speak to this enthusiastic group of women.

The popular topic was of course social media but the different spin was application to boomers. Most of the people in this audience were under the misimpression that social media, like texting, was for young(er) people. Marilynn went on to cite interesting stats about the average age of users on FaceBook, MySpace, etc. By the end of the hour she had most of the audience convinced they should be blogging and invited them to join her on LinkedIn.

She’s already responded to my invitation to join my network. I’ve heard from a few other new friends I met there as well. Interestingly, there are only175 folks in her network. Left me wondering, why would so few folks take her up on the offer? Any thoughts?

2 Responses to LinkedIn with Marilynn Mobley

  1. Hi,

    Thanks for your nice words about my presentation at ProWin. I certainly enjoyed my time with the group. I wanted to address your question about the number of people in my LinkedIn network. The fact is I turn down a lot of LinkedIn invitations. Otherwise, my network would be three times the size it is. I usually accept invitations only from people I know or at least have met. I don’t think it’s a good idea to connect with complete strangers; after all, the whole point of LinkedIn isn’t to just collect links, but to strengthen your network. That happens when you’re able to make connections with people you know or at least with people who know people you know. BTW, I received five invitations from people who were in the ProWIN audience. I accepted them all (they had all also introduced themselves to me at the meeting). I was surprised I didn’t hear from more, but I think maybe it’s because they just haven’t gotten familiar with LinkedIn yet and aren’t ready, or they haven’t figured out the point. I strongly encourage anyone reading this to learn more about this powerful networking tool.

  2. jenniferkoon says:

    Excellent clarification. Just today I received an invite from a man I do not know and could not figure out why he wanted to join me.

Leave a Reply

